Review: Heavy Vinyl, Vol. 1

35606614.jpg

Title: Heavy Vinyl
Author: Carly Usdin, Nina Vakueva
Genre: Graphic Novel
Publisher: BOOM! Box
Source: Library
Release Date: April 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

Goodreads Synopsis:

When Chris joins the staff at her local record store, she’s surprised to find out that her co-workers share a secret: they’re all members of a secret fight club that take on the patriarchy and fight crime!

Starry-eyed Chris has just started the dream job every outcast kid in town wants: working at Vinyl Mayhem. It’s as rad as she imagined; her boss is BOSS, her co-workers spend their time arguing over music, pushing against the patriarchy, and endlessly trying to form a band. When Rosie Riot, the staff’s favorite singer, mysteriously vanishes the night before her band’s show, Chris discovers her co-workers are doing more than just sorting vinyl . . . Her local indie record store is also a front for a teen girl vigilante fight club!

Follow writer Carly Usdin (director of Suicide Kale) and artist Nina Vakueva (Lilith’s World) into the Hi-Fi Fight Club, where they deliver a rock and roll tale of intrigue and boundless friendship.

Review:

I loved this book!

The girls are hilarious. I was surprised at the introduction of their fight club. At first, it seemed like they were just working in a record shop, but then it turns out that they have a secret fight club where they fight against injustice. It’s a great twist on a traditional girl power story, since they have a secret identity where they fight crimes.

I enjoyed the mystery of Rosie Riot’s disappearance. It was strange that she suddenly disappeared without a trace. I didn’t like the subplot of the bands being brainwashed. The explanation for that wasn’t believable.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book. I can’t wait to see what happens next!

What to read next:

  • Goldie Vance, Vol. 1 by Hope Larson, Brittany Williams, Sarah Stern

    28953805-2.jpg

  • Lumberjanes, Vol. 1: Beware the Kitten Holy by Noelle Stevenson, Grace Ellis, Shannon Watters, Brooke Allen

    22554204-2

Have you read Heavy Vinyl, Vol. 1? What did you think of it?

 

Top Ten Tuesday – Popular Books that Lived up to the Hype

 

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish and it is now hosted by The Artsy Reader Girl. This week’s theme is Popular Books that Lived up to the Hype. Here’s my list:

1. Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

23395680.jpg

 

2. When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

28458598-2.jpg

 

3. The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

32075671.jpg

 

4. A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

22055262.jpg

 

5. Dear Martin by Nic Stone

24974996.jpg

 

6. Cinder by Marissa Meyer

36381037-2.jpg

7. Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

28245707-4.jpg

 

8. My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows

22840421

9. Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

23437156.jpg

10. Warcross by Marie Lu

37771077.jpg

 

(All photos taken from Goodreads)

 

Review: The Last Magician

30312855-2.jpg

Title: The Last Magician
Author: Lisa Maxwell
Genre: Young Adult
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Source: Library
Release Date: July 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

Goodreads Synopsis:

Stop the Magician. Steal the book. Save the future.

In modern-day New York, magic is all but extinct. The remaining few who have an affinity for magic—the Mageus—live in the shadows, hiding who they are. Any Mageus who enters Manhattan becomes trapped by the Brink, a dark energy barrier that confines them to the island. Crossing it means losing their power—and often their lives.

Esta is a talented thief, and she’s been raised to steal magical artifacts from the sinister Order that created the Brink. With her innate ability to manipulate time, Esta can pilfer from the past, collecting these artifacts before the Order even realizes she’s there. And all of Esta’s training has been for one final job: traveling back to 1902 to steal an ancient book containing the secrets of the Order—and the Brink—before the Magician can destroy it and doom the Mageus to a hopeless future.

But Old New York is a dangerous world ruled by ruthless gangs and secret societies, a world where the very air crackles with magic. Nothing is as it seems, including the Magician himself. And for Esta to save her future, she may have to betray everyone in the past.

Review:

I loved the plot in this story. It reminded me of the heist in Six of Crows, but less intense and complex.

I had a hard time getting into the story at the beginning, because there were so many characters! The narrative kept switching between different characters, and some had similar names, or were referred to as their first and last names alternately so I thought they were different people. It was especially confusing because there were a few different gang leaders who ran the city. At about a quarter of the way through the book I had everyone sorted out.

I loved the time travel aspects of the story. Though there wasn’t a lot of switching between different time periods, Esta’s actions in the past altered the future. She could see that from the way that the newspaper clipping that she brought from the future changed when different things happened.

The ending was fantastic. There were a bunch of surprises that I didn’t see coming. I can’t wait to see what happens in the next book!

What to read next:

  • Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
    23437156

  • Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs
    9460487

Have you read The Last Magician? What did you think of it?

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? – July 30

 

This blog meme is hosted by Book Date. It is a place to meet up and share what you have been, are and about to be reading over the week.  It’s a great post to organize yourself. It’s an opportunity to visit and comment, and er… add to that ever growing TBR pile!

What I just finished:

36399240-2

This weekend I finished Believe Me by J.P. Delaney.

What I’m currently reading:

36505861

I’m currently reading Mary B: An Untold Story of Pride and Prejudice by Katherine J. Chen.

What I’m reading next:

15724396

Next I will be reading The Sword of Summer (Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard #1) by Rick Riordan.

What are you guys reading this week? Have you read any of these books?

Jill’s Weekly Wrap-Up – July 29

Here’s my weekly wrap up!

Here are my reviews for the week with my ratings:

I did 7 weekly blogging memes:

I also did a promo post for the online store Literary Book Gifts:

How was your week? What did you guys read?

Sundays In Bed With… Believe Me

 

The meme that dares to ask what book has been in your bed this morning? Come share what book you’ve spent time curled up reading in bed, or which book you wish you had time to read today! This meme is hosted by Midnight Book Girl.

This Sunday I reading Believe Me by J.P. Delaney.

36399240-2.jpg

Goodreads Synopsis:

In this twisty psychological thriller from the New York Timesbestselling author of The Girl Before, an actress plays both sides of a murder investigation.

A struggling actor, a Brit in America without a green card, Claire needs work and money to survive. Then she gets both. But nothing like she expected.

Claire agrees to become a decoy for a firm of divorce lawyers. Hired to entrap straying husbands, she must catch them on tape with their seductive propositions. The rules? Never hit on the mark directly. Make it clear you’re available, but he has to proposition you, not the other way around. The firm is after evidence, not coercion. The innocent have nothing to hide.

Then the game changes.

When the wife of one of Claire’s targets is violently murdered, the cops are sure the husband is to blame. Desperate to catch him before he kills again, they enlist Claire to lure him into a confession.

Claire can do this. She’s brilliant at assuming a voice and an identity. For a woman who’s mastered the art of manipulation, how difficult could it be to tempt a killer into a trap? But who is the decoy . . . and who is the prey?

What book are you in bed with today?

Review: Be Prepared

30623067.jpg

Title: Be Prepared
Author: Vera Brosgol
Genre: Middle Grade
Publisher: First Second
Source: Borrowed from a friend
Release Date: April 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

Goodreads Synopsis:

A gripping and hilarious middle-grade summer camp memoir from the author of Anya’s Ghost.

All Vera wants to do is fit in—but that’s not easy for a Russian girl in the suburbs. Her friends live in fancy houses and their parents can afford to send them to the best summer camps. Vera’s single mother can’t afford that sort of luxury, but there’s one summer camp in her price range—Russian summer camp.

Vera is sure she’s found the one place she can fit in, but camp is far from what she imagined. And nothing could prepare her for all the “cool girl” drama, endless Russian history lessons, and outhouses straight out of nightmares!

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier, Cece Bell, and Victoria Jamieson, Vera Brosgol’s Be Prepared is a funny and relatable middle-grade graphic novel about navigating your own culture, struggling to belong, and the value of true friendship.

Review:

This is a good story about making friends.

Vera learns how to be friends with older and younger kids in this story. When she wanted to be friends with the older kids at camp, she would put down others to make them laugh, or give them things to please them. It wasn’t a real friendship. But when she was friends with the younger kids, they looked up to her, so she was more generous.

I liked that Vera found her own Russian camp to go to, since she couldn’t go to the camps her friends from school attended. She embraced her culture, since they did Russian activities at camp, and they were only allowed to speak Russian at camp.

One thing I didn’t like was when Vera went along with teasing the other kids. I felt that she did that for way too long in the book. Some parts were kind of depressing too, like when one girl lost her guinea pig and when Vera was being teased.

The story was left on a cliffhanger, so I’m curious to see if it will continue.

What to read next:

  • Ghosts by Raina Telgemeier

    25903764.jpg

  • Lumberjanes, Vol. 1: Beware the Kitten Holy by Noelle Stevenson, Grace Ellis, Brooke A. Allen, Shannon Watters

    22554204-2.jpg

Have you read Be Prepared? What did you think of it?