Review: Just Jaime

Title: Just Jaime
Author: Terri Libenson
Genre: Middle Grade, Graphic Novel
Publisher: Balzer and Bray
Source: Borrowed from a friend
Format: Paperback
Release Date: May 7, 2019
Rating: ★★★★

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

Goodreads Synopsis:

Another spot-on story of middle school drama and friendship from Terri Libenson, national bestselling author of Invisible Emmie and Positively Izzy.

Friends. Frenemies. Middle school…

The last day of seventh grade has Jaime and Maya wondering who their real friends are.

Jaime knows something is off with her friend group. They’ve started to exclude her and make fun of the way she dresses and the things she likes. At least she can count on her BFF, Maya, to have her back . . . right?

Maya feels more and more annoyed with Jaime, who seems babyish compared to the other girls in their popular group. It’s like she has nothing in common with Jai anymore. Are their days as BFFs numbered . . . ?

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Jennifer L. Holm.

Review:

I really enjoyed this new graphic novel!

This story shows what can happen when kids grow up and grow apart. Jaime didn’t wear make up or want to do the same things as her other friends, so her friends wanted to cut her out of their group. It wasn’t fair to Jaime, but she ended up making new friends. It’s common for friends to drift apart, especially during preteen years, so this book is very relatable.

All of the books in this series have a twist at the end, where you discover something about a character that you never expected. The twist at the end of Invisible Emmie was kind of creepy, but the twist in this book was really clever. I didn’t see it coming.

This is a great story!

What to read next:

Invisible Emma by Terri Libenson

Positively Izzy by Terri Libenson

Have you read Just Jaime? What did you think of it?

Jill’s Weekly Wrap-Up – June 30

Here are my reviews for the week with my ratings:

I did 7 weekly blogging memes:

I also did a book tag:

How was your week? What did you guys read?

Sunday in Bed With… Don’t You Forget About Me

The meme that dares to ask what book has been in your bed this morning? Come share what book you’ve spent time curled up reading in bed, or which book you wish you had time to read today! This meme is hosted by Midnight Book Girl.

This Sunday I’m reading Don’t You Forget About Me by Mhairi McFarlane.

Goodreads Synopsis:

Sometimes you have to hit rock bottom to rise again…

The hilarious new heartbreaker from Mhairi McFarlane!

If there’s one thing worse than being fired from the grottiest restaurant in town, it’s coming home early to find your boyfriend in bed with someone else.

Reeling from the indignity of a double dumping on the same day, Georgina snatches at the next job that she’s offered – barmaid in a newly opened pub, which just so happens to run by the boy she fell in love with at school: Lucas McCarthy. And whereas Georgina (voted Most Likely to Succeed in her school yearbook) has done nothing but dead-end jobs in the last twelve years, Lucas has not only grown into a broodingly handsome man, but also has turned into an actual grown-up with a business and a dog along the way.

Meeting Lucas again not only throws Georgina’s rackety present into sharp relief, but also brings a dark secret from her past bubbling to the surface. Only she knows the truth about what happened on the last day of school, and why she’s allowed it to chase her all these years…

What book are you in bed with today?

Six for Sunday – Characters I Want To Be Friends With

This meme is hosted by Steph at A little but a lot. The weekly prompts for 2019 can be found here.

This week’s prompt is Characters I Want To Be Friends With. Here’s my list:

1. Hermione Granger

2. Mia Thermopolis

3. Georgia Nicolson

4. Cress

5. Mary Anne Spier

6. Suzannah Simon

Did you write a #SixforSunday post? What was your list of Characters You Want To Be Friends With?

Review: David Bowie

Title: David Bowie
Author: Maria Isabel Sanchez Vegara
Genre: Children’s, Non-Fiction
Publisher: Frances Lincoln Children’s Books
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Format: ebook
Release Date: May 7, 2019
Rating: ★★★★

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

Goodreads Synopsis:

New in the critically acclaimed Little People, BIG DREAMS series, discover the life of David Bowie, the starman who dazzled audiences with his music. As a child, young David had a head full of songs and ideas. He was inspired by the pop and mod scenes in Britain to pick up the saxophone. After earning his stripes in some of the coolest bands in London, David splashed onto the solo scene. His songwriting talent and musical skill made him one of rock and roll’s all-time greatest artists. This moving book features stylish and quirky illustrations and extra facts at the back, including a biographical timeline with historical photos and a detailed profile of the musician’s life. Little People, BIG DREAMS is a bestselling series of books and educational games that explore the lives of outstanding people, from designers and artists to scientists and activists. All of them achieved incredible things, yet each began life as a child with a dream. This empowering series offers inspiring messages to children of all ages, in a range of formats. The board books are told in simple sentences, perfect for reading aloud to babies and toddlers. The hardback versions present expanded stories for beginning readers. Boxed gift sets allow you to collect a selection of the books by theme. Paper dolls, learning cards, matching games and other fun learning tools provide even more ways to make the lives of these role models accessible to children. Inspire the next generation of outstanding people who will change the world with Little People, BIG DREAMS!

Review:

I haven’t read any books in this series, but this one was very cute.

This series is great for young kids to learn about important historical figures. This book is about David Bowie and how he became a rock star.

David Bowie was an interesting man. I think his music and costumes would appeal to kids, so this book is a great way to introduce kids to David Bowie.

Thank you Lincoln Children’s Books for providing a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

What to read next:

Muhammad Ali by Maria Isabel Sanchez Vegara

Mahatma Gandhi by Maria Isabel Sanchez Vegara

Have you read David Bowie? What did you think of it?

The Mid-Year Freak Out Tag

This is my first time doing this tag! I don’t usually do tags, since I do a lot of reading. I was going to do this one last year… but I got side-tracked. Thank you Emma from Emma’s Chapter for tagging me this year!! (P.S. Check out her blog! She’s awesome!)

Best Book of 2019 So Far

I just started reading this series this year, and I’m so hooked on it! I can’t wait for the next book, but I also don’t want the series to end. Here’s my review.

Best Sequel of 2019 So Far

This is a fun series, where Victorian classics are retold in a fantasy world. The first one was a retelling of Frankenstein and this one was a retelling of Oliver Twist. I love this series! Here’s my review.

New Release That You Haven’t Read Yet But Want To

I’m so excited to read The Bride Test! I hope to read it soon, because I’ve heard good things about it.

Most Anticipated Release of the Second Half of 2019

I’m dying to read Ninth House! I can’t wait for it to come out in the fall!

Biggest Disappointment of 2019 So Far

I thought this book would be funnier, but it was actually quite creepy.

Biggest Surprise of 2019 So Far

I enjoyed Ash Princess, but the ending of the second book in the trilogy, Lady Smoke, was so intense! I have no idea what will happen in the next book. Here’s my review.

Favourite New Author

I loved Nocturna! Maya Motayne is awesome. I’m excited to read the next book. Here’s my review.

Newest Fictional Crush

Ashish Patel was adorable in this book! I love all of Sandhya Menon’s characters, but they’re especially sweet in this new book! Here’s my review.

Newest Favourite Character

I really liked Cam in this book. He played an important role in the ending of this book, which I can’t say too much about without giving spoilers. I highly recommend it! Here’s my review.

Book That Made You Happy

I’m going to start reading more romantic comedies, because they are so much fun! This book was a hilarious ending to the Don Tillman series. Also, the event I went to at Indigo with Graeme Simsion was the funniest book event I have ever been to! Here’s my review.

Books To Read By the End of the Year

I have so many books to read by the end of the year, but I have preordered these ones so I can read them ASAP! I’m so excited for them to come out!

Favourite Post You Have Done So Far This Year

Other than this fun tag, I really enjoyed writing my Top Ten Tuesday list of Characters That Remind Me of Myself. This one was a bit of a challenge, since I couldn’t just pick the ones that I like, but rather the ones that I am the most like. It was a fun challenge!

Divider 2.png
I Tag

Evelyn @ Evelyn Reads

Mani @ Mani’s Book Corner

Deb @ The Reading Chick

Libby @ Libby Reads

Brittany @ Bookaholic Brittany

Review: Captain Ginger

Title: Captain Ginger
Author: Stuart Moore
Genre: Graphic Novel, Science Fiction
Publisher: Ahoy Comics
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Format: ebook
Release Date: June 18, 2019
Rating: ★★★

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

Goodreads Synopsis:

Now in one volume: the acclaimed tale of a starship run by cats! The intrepid Captain Ginger struggles to keep his fellow felines united against a hostile universe―and their own worst feline instincts, too. Featuring the entire original miniseries, plus two rare extra stories and a sketchbook of character designs.

Review:

This book started out great but it got quite strange by the end.

This story is an imagining of Star Trek cast with cats. There were tons of cat jokes throughout the story. There was a character called Sargent Mittens. Their enemy targeted them by sending laser lights to distract them. One cat even had a ton of kittens that overcrowded the ship!

The story took a strange turn by the end. One cat was transformed into an omniscient being that could create new parts of the ship. It was very weird and quite creepy.

This book could have been clever, but it was just too strange for me.

Thank you Diamond Book Distributors for providing a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Have you read Captain Ginger? What did you think of it?