Review: Be Prepared

30623067.jpg

Title: Be Prepared
Author: Vera Brosgol
Genre: Middle Grade
Publisher: First Second
Source: Borrowed from a friend
Release Date: April 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

Goodreads Synopsis:

A gripping and hilarious middle-grade summer camp memoir from the author of Anya’s Ghost.

All Vera wants to do is fit in—but that’s not easy for a Russian girl in the suburbs. Her friends live in fancy houses and their parents can afford to send them to the best summer camps. Vera’s single mother can’t afford that sort of luxury, but there’s one summer camp in her price range—Russian summer camp.

Vera is sure she’s found the one place she can fit in, but camp is far from what she imagined. And nothing could prepare her for all the “cool girl” drama, endless Russian history lessons, and outhouses straight out of nightmares!

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier, Cece Bell, and Victoria Jamieson, Vera Brosgol’s Be Prepared is a funny and relatable middle-grade graphic novel about navigating your own culture, struggling to belong, and the value of true friendship.

Review:

This is a good story about making friends.

Vera learns how to be friends with older and younger kids in this story. When she wanted to be friends with the older kids at camp, she would put down others to make them laugh, or give them things to please them. It wasn’t a real friendship. But when she was friends with the younger kids, they looked up to her, so she was more generous.

I liked that Vera found her own Russian camp to go to, since she couldn’t go to the camps her friends from school attended. She embraced her culture, since they did Russian activities at camp, and they were only allowed to speak Russian at camp.

One thing I didn’t like was when Vera went along with teasing the other kids. I felt that she did that for way too long in the book. Some parts were kind of depressing too, like when one girl lost her guinea pig and when Vera was being teased.

The story was left on a cliffhanger, so I’m curious to see if it will continue.

What to read next:

  • Ghosts by Raina Telgemeier

    25903764.jpg

  • Lumberjanes, Vol. 1: Beware the Kitten Holy by Noelle Stevenson, Grace Ellis, Brooke A. Allen, Shannon Watters

    22554204-2.jpg

Have you read Be Prepared? What did you think of it?

One thought on “Review: Be Prepared”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s