Review: Megabat is a Fraidybat

Title: Megabat is a Friadybat
Author: Anna Humphrey, Kass Reich (illustrator)
Genre: Middle Grade
Publisher: Tundra Books
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Format: Ebook
Release Date: April 7, 2020
Rating: ★★★★★

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

Goodreads Synopsis:

Megabat and his best friend, Daniel, go to sleepaway camp for the first time. Another hilarious chapter book in this laugh-out-loud series for fans of Dory Fantasmagory and Narwhal and Jelly.

Daniel is not so sure about going to camp. There will be bugs. And uncomfortable beds. And leeches!

Megabat can’t WAIT to go to camp! There will be so much smooshfruit, and he loves a good sing-along.

Daniel starts to think camp isn’t so bad. He’s made friends, and his bed isn’t THAT uncomfortable.

Megabat has made a new friend too. But his new friend wants him to go flying to spooky caves. And her mom is very toothy.

As Daniel is getting into the swing of things and starting to enjoy camp, Megabat is getting himself into one tangle after another to avoid going into the scary woods. But can Megabat overcome his fears to help save his new friend? Kass Reich’s adorable illustrations paired with Anna Humphrey’s hilarious text make for another unforgettable Megabat adventure, one that will appeal to Megabat fans and newcomers!

Review:

Daniel’s father surprises him with a trip to a sleep away camp. Daniel hasn’t ever gone to camp before and he is scared. His friend, Megabat, will be accompanying him, and he is excited. Megabat is a fruitbat, who can speak. Daniel immediately loves camp when he makes some friends, but Megabat is scared. Some bats met Megabat and want him to go into the dark forest with him. Megabat has to figure out how to conquer his fears.

Megabat is adorable! He speaks like a little kid, without proper grammar. For example, when he found out they were going to camp, he said, “But camp is being the adventure of a livingtime.” Even though he doesn’t use the right words most of the time, it’s easy to figure out what he means.

This was a great story about camp. Daniel was scared to go because he didn’t know what to expect. As soon as he made a friend on the bus, he forgot all about his fears. Even though many kids won’t be going away to camp this summer, they can read about camp in stories like this one.

This was a fun kid’s story!

Thank you Penguin Random House Canada for providing a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

What to read next:

The Secret of Shadow Lake (Creature Campers #1) by Joe McGee, Bea Tormo (illustrator)

Have you read Megabat is a Fraidybat? What did you think of it?

One thought on “Review: Megabat is a Fraidybat”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.