Review: The Woman Outside My Door

Title: The Woman Outside My Door
Author: Rachel Ryan
Genre: Thriller
Publisher: Simon and Schuster Canada
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Format: Ebook, paperback arc
Release Date: November 24, 2020
Rating: ★★★★

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

Goodreads Synopsis:

From an unforgettable new voice in suspense fiction, The Woman Outside My Door is a thrilling page-turner about a young mother who can’t shake the feeling that her son’s “imaginary” friend is putting him in very real danger, and she will stop at nothing to keep him safe—perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell and Mary Kubica. 

All children have imaginary friends, Georgina tells herself. It’s perfectly normal, and they all grow out of it in the end. But when her seven-year-old son, Cody, tells her about New Granny, the new friend he’s met in the park, Georgina is instantly suspicious. Something—call it maternal instinct—tells her he isn’t making it up.

But maybe Georgina is losing her mind. It wouldn’t be the first time, after all. And with her own mother’s recent death leaving her bereft and trying to cope with life as a busy working mom, it’s no wonder she’s feeling paranoid that Cody has invented a “New Granny” to replace his beloved grandmother.

Her husband, Bren, becomes the voice of reason, assuring Georgina that it’s just a game, the product of their son’s overactive imagination. But what if Cody’s imaginary friend is not so imaginary after all? 

Review:

Georgina is worried that her son has a new friend who he calls “New Granny.” He says that he saw her at the park and she gave him candy. Georgina’s mother recently died, so her son doesn’t have any grandmothers. Her husband, Bren, just thinks that this is an imaginary friend, which is the way their son is dealing with the loss of his grandmother. Then, Georgina gets the feeling that she’s being watched everywhere she goes. Georgina has to figure out the truth behind her son’s “New Granny” before someone gets hurt.

This story started out like a lot of thrillers. Georgina seemed to be losing her mind because no one believed her about someone following her and her son. She had mental health problems in her past, and she didn’t have a great relationship with her husband. I’ve read many thrillers with these clues, so I thought I had the story figured out. However, halfway through, the story twisted and went in a different direction. I was really surprised at the ending.

I almost read this whole book in one sitting! It was fast paced and suspenseful. I really enjoyed this thriller!

Thank you Simon and Schuster Canada for providing a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

What to read next:

Woman on the Edge by Samantha M. Bailey

The Other Mrs. by Mary Kubica

Have you read The Woman Outside My Door? What did you think of it?

One thought on “Review: The Woman Outside My Door”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.