Review: The Love Square

Title: The Love Square
Author: Laura Jane Williams
Genre: Fiction, Romance
Publisher: Avon
Source: Publisher via Edelweiss
Format: Ebook
Release Date: July 7, 2020
Rating: ★★★

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

Goodreads Synopsis:

She’s single. But it can still be complicated…

Penny Bridge has always been unlucky in love.

So she can’t believe it when she meets a remarkable new man.

Followed by another.

And then another

And all of them want to date her.

Penny has to choose between three. But are any of them The One?

The bestselling author of Our Stop will have you laughing, crying and cheering Penny on in this funny and feel-good exploration of hope, romance and the trust it takes to finally fall in love. Perfect for fans of Mhairi McFarlane’s If I Never Met You and Beth O’Leary’s The Flatshare.

Review:

Penny is a café owner who is discouraged by the lack of romance in her life. When Francesco walks into her café one day, she thinks that her luck is about to change. They have a whirlwind romance that seems too good to be true. Penny is suddenly called away from London, to return to her home town in Derbyshire to run her uncle’s restaurant. Francesco makes it easy for her to leave, but she can’t help thinking about him while she starts two new romances in Derbyshire. Penny strings all three men along, which can only end in heartbreak.

This story started out as a slow burn. Penny and Francesco’s romance was quite slow, and took up almost the first half of the book. I was wondering when the “love square” was going to come in, because it was just the two of them for so long. I think some of the details of that romance could have been condensed to get to the main point of the plot sooner, which was Penny’s love square with three men.

Penny was a frustrating character. At the beginning, a man told her that he didn’t want to be with her because she was too confident. However, by the end, she was letting certain men put her down to the point that she thought there was something seriously wrong with her. The men made her feel bad for doing the same things that they did to her. It was frustrating to see her being insulted and lacking the confidence that she was told she had the beginning of the story.

The cover didn’t match the story. The three men who are pictured on the cover don’t match the ones in the story. On the cover, one man has a dog and another has a bike, even though bicycles were never mentioned and a dog barked in one scene. These men didn’t match the chef, wine merchant, and concert tour manager in the story.

This slow burn romance didn’t work for me.

Thank you HarperCollins for providing a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

What to read next:

Don’t You Forget About Me by Mhairi McFarlane

The Switch by Beth O’Leary

Have you read The Love Square? What did you think of it?

One thought on “Review: The Love Square”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.