Review: A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder (A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder #1)

Title: A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder (A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder #1)
Author: Holly Jackson
Genre: Young Adult, Thriller
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Source: Publisher
Format: Paperback
Release Date: February 4, 2020 (originally May 2, 2019)
Rating: ★★★★★

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

Goodreads Synopsis:

For readers of Kara Thomas and Karen McManus, an addictive, twisty crime thriller with shades of Serial and Making a Murderer about a closed local murder case that doesn’t add up, and a girl who’s determined to find the real killer–but not everyone wants her meddling in the past.

Everyone in Fairview knows the story.

Pretty and popular high school senior Andie Bell was murdered by her boyfriend, Sal Singh, who then killed himself. It was all anyone could talk about. And five years later, Pip sees how the tragedy still haunts her town.

But she can’t shake the feeling that there was more to what happened that day. She knew Sal when she was a child, and he was always so kind to her. How could he possibly have been a killer?

Now a senior herself, Pip decides to reexamine the closed case for her final project, at first just to cast doubt on the original investigation. But soon she discovers a trail of dark secrets that might actually prove Sal innocent . . . and the line between past and present begins to blur. Someone in Fairview doesn’t want Pip digging around for answers, and now her own life might be in danger.

This is the story of an investigation turned obsession, full of twists and turns and with an ending you’ll never expect. 

Review:

This was a thrilling young adult novel!

In this story, Pippa decides to investigate a five-year-old murder of a girl in her town. The case had been closed by the police after the girl’s boyfriend committed suicide, but something about the case didn’t feel right to Pippa. She does her own investigation with Ravi, the brother of the boy who died.

This was a suspenseful story with loads of twists. There were so many clues that it was difficult to piece together. In the end, it all made sense. I didn’t guess what had happened, because it was a complicated ending. I like it when I’m surprised at the ending of thrillers, without having a bunch of important clues withheld until the end.

I loved this young adult thriller! I’ll be recommending this book to all my friends. I’m excited to read the next book in this series.

Thank you Penguin Random House Canada for providing a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

What to read next:

Two Can Keep a Secret by Karen M. McManus

Sadie by Courtney Summers

Have you read A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder? What did you think of it?

5 thoughts on “Review: A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder (A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder #1)”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.