Review: Harley and Ivy Meet Betty and Veronica

Title: Harley and Ivy Meet Betty and Veronica
Author: Paul Dini, Marc Andreyko, Laura Braga
Genre: Graphic Novel
Publisher: DC Comics
Source: Purchased
Format: Hardcover
Release Date: September 4, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

Goodreads Synopsis:

Hiram Lodge (Veronica’s father) wants to invest in the future by building a university with free tuition for Riverdale’s residents. His site is a protected swamp on the outskirts of town, and once news of the plan reaches Gotham City, a certain eco-warrior (a.k.a. Poison Ivy) is determined to prevent the dream from becoming reality.

However, once Poison Ivy and her bestie Harley Quinn arrive, they get mixed up in the sort of hijinks that can only happen in Riverdale. At a superhero-themed costume party, the night’s entertainment–Zatanna– manages to place the personas of the Gotham City Sirens into the bodies of the town’s notorious frenemies: Betty Cooper and Veronica Lodge. While Ivy (in Ronnie’s body) seeks to derail Lodge’s agenda from within, more than a few nefarious forces–from Jason and Cheryl Blossom to the Clown Prince of Crime himself–have their own foul plans.

This groundbreaking miniseries teams up two of fandom’s best-known duos, bringing the ladies of Gotham and Riverdale together for the first time! This madcap mayhem comes courtesy of Paul Dini (Harley Quinn) and Marc Andreyko (Wonder Woman ’77), with art by Laura Braga (DC Comics: Bombshells)! Collects Harley & Ivy Meet Betty & Veronica #1-6. 

Review:

I love Harley Quinn and Archie comics so this book was made for me! It definitely lived up to my expectations.

This story was hilarious. Harley Quinn and Poison Ivy go to Riverdale to persuade Mr. Lodge not to develop Sweetwater Swamp into a school and shopping center. While they’re there, the magician Zatanna arrives at a Halloween party (where Betty and Veronica happen to be dressed as Harley and Poison Ivy) and accidentally puts a spell on Harley, Ivy, Betty and Veronica, making the two sets of friends switch bodies. They four girls have to make their way back to their hometowns and their own bodies.

I had never noticed how many similarities there were between the Archie Comics characters and the DC Comics characters. Sabrina and Zatanna are both magical characters. Catwoman came to Riverdale to see Josie and the Pussycats perform because she is a huge fan of them. Reggie, Riverdale’s resident jokester, dressed up as the Joker for the costume party. I loved discovering the similar characters from my favourite comics.

This was an amazing graphic novel! It’s a must read for fans of Harley, Ivy, Betty and Veronica!

What to read next:

Harley Quinn: Mad Love by Paul Dini, Pat Cadigan

Betty and Veronica by Adam Hughes

Have you read Harley and Ivy Meet Betty and Veronica? What did you think of it?

One thought on “Review: Harley and Ivy Meet Betty and Veronica”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.