Review: Ordinary Girls

Title: Ordinary Girls
Author: Blair Thornburgh
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary
Publisher: HarperTeen
Source: Publisher
Format: Paperback
Release Date: June 4, 2019
Rating: ★★★★

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

Goodreads Synopsis:

Perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Mlynowski, this heartfelt and humorous contemporary take on Sense and Sensibility follows two sisters—complete opposites—who discover the secrets they’ve been keeping make them more alike than they’d realized.

For two sisters as different as Plum and Ginny, getting on each other’s nerves is par for the course. But when the family’s finances hit a snag, sending chaos through the house in a way only characters from a Jane Austen novel could understand, the two drift apart like they never have before. Plum, a self-described social outcast, strikes up a secret friendship with the class jock, while Ginny’s usual high-strung nature escalates to pure hysterics.

But this has always been the sisters’ dynamic. So why does everything feel different this year? Maybe because Ginny is going to leave for college soon. Maybe because Plum finally has something that she doesn’t have to share with her self-involved older sister. Or maybe because the girls are forced to examine who they really are instead of who their late father said they were. And who each girl discovers—beneath the years of missing their dad—could either bring them closer together…or drive them further apart.

Review:

This was a great story about sisters.

I flew through this book. I loved the way that Patience narrated it. She was very mature. It sounded like a Victorian novel, though the subject matter wouldn’t have been in a novel in the nineteenth century.

I enjoyed the family dynamic of the story. Their mother was an artist who often had too much on her plate. The house was also an important part of the story, because it was falling apart, which kept interrupting their lives when they had to fix it. The relationship between the sisters was also important. Though they are very close, they kept big secrets from each other, which only come out after they are threatened with a tragedy.

I really enjoyed this story!

Thank you HarperCollins Canada for providing a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

What to read next:

Who’s That Girl by Blair Thornburgh

Have you read Ordinary Girls? What did you think of it?

‘Waiting on’ Wednesday – July 3

This is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine. In this post we highlight a book that’s highly anticipated.

The book that I’m waiting on this Wednesday is The Merciful Crow by Margaret Owen. The release date is July 30, 2019.

Goodreads Synopsis:

A future chieftain

Fie abides by one rule: look after your own. Her Crow caste of undertakers and mercy-killers takes more abuse than coin, but when they’re called to collect royal dead, she’s hoping they’ll find the payout of a lifetime.

A fugitive prince

When Crown Prince Jasimir turns out to have faked his death, Fie’s ready to cut her losses—and perhaps his throat. But he offers a wager that she can’t refuse: protect him from a ruthless queen, and he’ll protect the Crows when he reigns.

A too-cunning bodyguard

Hawk warrior Tavin has always put Jas’s life before his, magically assuming the prince’s appearance and shadowing his every step. But what happens when Tavin begins to want something to call his own?

What books are you waiting on this week?

Review: The Lost Sisters (The Folk of the Air #1.5)

Title: The Lost Sisters (The Folk of the Air #1.5)
Author: Holly Black
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy
Publisher: NOVL
Source: Purchased
Format: Ebook
Release Date: October 2, 2018
Rating: ★★★★

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

Goodreads Synopsis:

Sometimes the difference between a love story and a horror story is where the ending comes . . . 

While Jude fought for power in the Court of Elfhame against the cruel Prince Cardan, her sister Taryn began to fall in love with the trickster, Locke. 

Half-apology and half-explanation, it turns out that Taryn has some secrets of her own to reveal.

The Lost Sisters is a companion e-novella to the New York Times bestselling novel The Cruel Prince by master writer Holly Black.

Review:

This story comes between The Cruel Prince and The Wicked King. It is a great refresher of The Cruel Prince because it gives an overview of what happened in that book from a new perspective.

This story is told by Taryn speaking directly to Jude. It is written in the uncommon second person, because it addresses “you.” I read this story after reading The Wicked King, instead of between the two novels. However, I think I enjoyed it more reading it this way, because Taryn plays a unique role in The Wicked King. This story gave me a different perspective of her character because she was able to tell her side of the story.

I enjoyed this short story. It is great for fans of this series!

What to read next:

The Wicked King (The Folk of the Air #2) by Holly Black

Tithe (Modern Faerie Tales #1) by Holly Black

Have you read The Lost Sisters? What did you think of it?

Top Ten Tuesday – Childhood Favourites

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish and it is now hosted by The Artsy Reader Girl. This week’s Childhood Favourites. I’m listing my favourite books that I read as a child. Here’s my list:

1. Junie B. Jones and the Stupid Smelly Bus by Barbara Park

2. Kittens in the Kitchen (Animal Ark #1) by Ben M. Baglio

3. Just Me And My Dad by Mercer Mayer

4. The Berenstain Bears and Too Much Junk Food by Stan and Jan Berenstain

5. Amelia Bedelia’s Family Album by Peggy Parish

6. What-A-Mess by Frank Muir

7. Mole and Shrew All Year Through by Jackie French Koller

8. The Pen is Mightier Than the Sword by Anne Mazer

9. Into the Blue by Ben M. Baglio

10. Amber Brown is Not a Crayon by Paula Danziger

(All photos taken from Goodreads)

Review: Keeping the Moon

Title: Keeping the Moon (audiobook)
Author: Sarah Dessen, Stina Nielsen (narrator)
Genre: Young Adult
Publisher: Speak
Source: Library
Format: Audiobook
Release Date: June 11, 2009 (first published September 1, 1999)
Rating: ★★★

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

Goodreads Synopsis:

Colie expects the worst when she’s sent to spend the summer with her eccentric aunt Mira while her mother, queen of the television infomercial, tours Europe. Always an outcast — first for being fat and then for being “easy” — Colie has no friends at home and doesn’t expect to find any in Colby, North Carolina. 

But then she lands a job at the Last Chance Cafe and meets fellow waitresses Morgan and Isabel, best friends with a loving yet volatile relationship. Wacky yet wise, Morgan and Isabel help Colie see herself in a new way and realize the potential that has been there all along. 

Review:

I was disappointed in this book.

It was more character driven than plot driven. There wasn’t much that happened to the main character, Colie. The other characters around her were so much more interesting than her. Her mother used to be overweight her whole life, but is now a fitness celebrity. Her neighbour, Morgan, was engaged to a not-so-good guy. Even Colie’s eccentric aunt seemed more developed than her. I think one of the other characters would have been a better main character than Colie.

I listened to the audiobook, which was good. The narrator’s voice was relaxing and easy to listen to. She did some great impressions for the more developed characters, such as Morgan who was a drama queen sometimes. These different voices were entertaining.

I’m glad this wasn’t the first Sarah Dessen book I’ve read. Her storytelling ability has improved a lot over the past 20 years since this book was written.

What to read next:

Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen

Once and For All by Sarah Dessen

Have you read Keeping the Moon? What did you think of it?

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? – July 1

This blog meme is hosted by Book Date. It is a place to meet up and share what you have been, are and about to be reading over the week.  It’s a great post to organize yourself. It’s an opportunity to visit and comment, and er… add to that ever growing TBR pile!

What I just finished:

This weekend I finished Ordinary Girls by Blair Thornburgh.

What I’m currently reading:

I’m currently reading Don’t You Forget About Me by Mhairi McFarlane.

What I’m reading next:

Next I will be reading The Best Lies by Sarah Lyu.

What are you guys reading this week? Have you read any of these books?