Review: The Truth About Martians

38139765.jpg

Title: The Truth About Martians
Author: Melissa Savage
Genre: Young Adult
Publisher: Penguin Random House Canada
Source: Publisher
Release Date: October 2, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

Goodreads Synopsis:

A boy and his best friends set out to discover the aliens who crash-landed next to their Roswell, New Mexico, farm in this charming novel packed with adventure and heart, perfect for fans of Ali Benjamin’s The Thing About Jellyfish and Jennifer L. Holm’s The Fourteenth Goldfish.

Mylo never really believed in Martians, unless they had a starring role in one of his comic books. But then a flying saucer crash-lands next to his Roswell, New Mexico, ranch, and he starts to hear voices–like someone is asking for his help.

With his best friend Dibs and crush Gracie by his side, and his Cracker Jack superhero membership card, a slingshot, and a small American flag–for peace–in tow, Mylo sets out on an epic adventure to investigate the crash and find the Martians. But he and his friends end up discovering more about the universe than they ever could have imagined.

Review:

I really enjoyed this story!

At first, I didn’t realize it was about the famous Roswell spaceship. This is a cool way to teach kids history, though it is a fictional story. The historical elements of the story were great, especially the way that the kids rode horses around town.

This story was also an emotional rollercoaster. The main character lost his brother a year before, and he keeps revisiting his grave. He misses him tremendously. Though he’s excited about the alien discovery, he wishes his brother was there with him to experience it too.

This story was fast paced and exciting! I loved it!

What to read next:

  • The Storm Runner by J.C. Cervantes

  • 34966353-2.jpg
  • Lemons by Melissa Savage

  • 29877903.jpg

Have you read The Truth About Martians? What did you think of it?

One thought on “Review: The Truth About Martians”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s