Blog Tour: Zombie Abbey

34921591.jpg

Title: Zombie Abbey
Author: Lauren Baratz-Logsted
Genre: Young Adult
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Source: NetGalley
Release Date: April 3, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

Goodreads Synopsis:

1920, England

And the three teenage Clarke sisters thought what they’d wear to dinner was their biggest problem…

Lady Kate, the entitled eldest.
Lady Grace, lost in the middle and wishing she were braver.
Lady Lizzy, so endlessly sunny, it’s easy to underestimate her.

Then there’s Will Harvey, the proud, to-die-for—and possibly die with!—stable boy; Daniel Murray, the resourceful second footman with a secret; Raymond Allen, the unfortunate-looking young duke; and Fanny Rogers, the unsinkable kitchen maid.

Upstairs! Downstairs! Toss in some farmers and villagers!

None of them ever expected to work together for any reason.

But none of them had ever seen anything like this.

Review:

I loved this book! I miss watching Downton Abbey so much, so this book filled that hole in my life!

This book is a young adult version of Downton Abbey, mixed with a lot of humour. I could recognize which character in Downton Abbey matched the ones in Zombie Abbey. Fanny was the ditzy kitchen maid, who had lots of opinions on the people upstairs. She reminded me of Daisy in Downton. Katherine was the oldest daughter and Benedict was her distant cousin, who is also her father’s heir. They reminded me of Mary and Matthew in Downton. Those are just a couple of the most obvious comparisons, but almost every character in this story has a match in Downton. These similarities were great because it made it easier to differentiate between the many characters in this ensemble cast.

The story was quite funny too. The Clarke family was very oblivious to the problems of the farmers and villagers. This was different from the Crawley family on Downton, who cared about the people on their land. The zombies that appeared were also funny, because they were so unexpected. When reading about an early 20th century English estate, you don’t expect to see Zombies pop up on their hunting trips. The zombie aspect of the story was a lot like Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, because though we are familiar with the story, the zombies disrupt the narrative in a funny way.

I loved this story! This a must read for fans of Downton Abbey and Pride and Prejudice and Zombies!

About the Author:

Lauren_BaratzLogsted.jpg

Amelia Brunskill was born in Melbourne, Australia, but she grew up mostly in Washington state where she picked a lot of blackberries, read a lot of books, and failed to properly appreciate the epic beauty of the mountains and the Pacific ocean.

She earned her bachelors degrees in psychology and art from the University of Washington and her master in information studies from the University of Texas at Austin. She now lives in Chicago, where she eats as much Thai food as possible and works as a librarian.

The Window is her debut novel.

Giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s