Blog Tour: Upstairs, Downstairs

9781788540094

Title: Upstairs, Downstairs
Author: Olivia Hart
Genre: Fiction
Publisher: Aria
Source: NetGalley
Release Date: October 1, 2017
Rating: ★★

Synopsis:

Secrets on your doorstep don’t stay secret for long… A romantic comedy perfect for fans of Debbie Johnson and Holly Martin.

When Daniele Bracci – a musician at Rome’s Opera Theatre arrives at his new apartment, he is surprised by the warm welcome he receives from his neighbours. Giovanna however, is more preoccupied with introducing him to her daughter Anita. But what she doesn’t know is that for the last two years, Anita has been secretly seeing someone else.

When Anita is introduced to the new tenant, she has the shock of her life – Daniele was Anita’s first love at high school. Can she come to terms with the terrible way things ended between them?

Anita isn’t the only one with something to hide… and none of these secrets go unnoticed by Pina, the apartment gossip who writes everything down in her secret diary…

Review:

This story is very fast paced. A lot happens in a short period of time. It was also fairly short, so I read it in just a few hours.

I liked the diverse backgrounds in this story. Though most of the characters are Italian, Anita’s boyfriend is Japanese. This brought different ethnic groups into the story. They would also eat at restaurants that had culturally different foods, such as Japanese or Medeterranian restaurants.

One thing that I thought could be improved was the dialogue. Sometimes the characters had a conversation that described something that they already knew. It was unrealistic, since it was only there to give information to the reader.

The voices of the characters sounded the same, so I would get confused about who was speaking in the middle of the dialogue, since they didn’t sound distinct. Also, there was a lot of thinking out loud, which were thoughts in quotation marks, so I would get that mixed up with dialogue.

I would have liked to see more diary entries from Pina. She’s a funny character, because she’s so nosy. It would have been nice to see more from her perspective.

This was an interesting story, but I think it could have been polished to be more successful.

About the Author:

Olivia Hart is a collective group of authors who met five years ago on a writing course and then could no longer do without each other’s company. They decided to write a novel that would bind them forever.

Follow Olivia

Website: http://ariafiction.com/author/olivia-hart

Upstairs, Downstairs The Blog Tour

Available on NetGalley: http://bit.ly/2xtoDNo

Buy links:
Amazon: http://amzn.to/2fFQzV7
Kobo: http://bit.ly/2xldsqO
iBooks: http://apple.co/2xn3T8n
Google Play: http://bit.ly/2fEKqIL

Follow Aria
Website: www.ariafiction.com
Twitter: @aria_fiction
Facebook: @ariafiction
Instagram: @ariafiction

 

One thought on “Blog Tour: Upstairs, Downstairs”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s