Review: Narwhal: Unicorn of the Sea (A Narwhal and Jelly Book #1)

Title: Narwhal: Unicorn of the Sea (A Narwhal and Jelly Book #1)
Author: Ben Clanton
Genre: Children’s, Graphic Novel
Publisher: Tundra Books
Source: Library
Format: Ebook
Release Date: October 4, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Goodreads Synopsis:

Narwhal is a happy-go-lucky narwhal. Jelly is a no-nonsense jellyfish. The two might not have a lot in common, but they do they love waffles, parties and adventures. Join Narwhal and Jelly as they discover the whole wide ocean together.

Review:

This is an adorable book!

I had seen this series around, and I wanted to read it for a long time. Narwhals are unusual creatures because they really look like unicorn whales. They don’t even look real.

I laughed out loud a few times while I read this book. Narwhal is learning about who he is while he teaches his friend Jelly the jellyfish. For example, he knows that a group of narwhals is called a pod, so he wants to make his own pod. Instead of finding a bunch of narwhals, he gathers his sea creature friends, such as a shark and an octopus and gives them horns to wear so they look like narwhals too. This part was funny, and educational because it teaches kids about sea creatures.

This short book is entertaining for kids and adults.

What to read next:

Super Narwhal and Jelly Jolt (A Narwhal and Jelly Book #1) by Ben Clanton

It Came in the Mail by Ben Clanton

Have you read Narwhal: Unicorn of the Sea? What did you think of it?

TBR Thursday – December 27

TBR Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by Kimberly Faye Reads, where you post a title from your shelf or e-reader and find out what others think about it.

My pick this week is Royals by Rachel Hawkins.

Goodreads Synopsis:

Meet Daisy Winters. She’s an offbeat sixteen-year-old Floridian with mermaid-red hair; a part time job at a bootleg Walmart, and a perfect older sister who’s nearly engaged to the Crown Prince of Scotland. Daisy has no desire to live in the spotlight, but relentless tabloid attention forces her to join Ellie at the relative seclusion of the castle across the pond. 

While the dashing young Miles has been appointed to teach Daisy the ropes of being regal, the prince’s roguish younger brother kicks up scandal wherever he goes, and tries his best to take Daisy along for the ride. The crown–and the intriguing Miles–might be trying to make Daisy into a lady . . . but Daisy may just rewrite the royal rulebook to suit herself.

Have you read this book? What did you think of it?

Review: The Afterlife of Holly Chase

Title: The Afterlife of Holly Chase
Author: Cynthia Hand
Genre: Young Adult
Publisher: HarperTeen
Source: Purchased
Format: Ebook
Release Date: October 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Goodreads Synopsis:

On Christmas Eve five years ago, Holly was visited by three ghosts who showed her how selfish and spoiled she’d become. They tried to convince her to mend her ways.

She didn’t.

And then she died.

Now she’s stuck working for the top-secret company Project Scrooge–as the latest Ghost of Christmas Past.

Every year, they save another miserly grouch. Every year, Holly stays frozen at seventeen while her family and friends go on living without her. So far, Holly’s afterlife has been miserable.

But this year, everything is about to change. . . . 

Review:

I loved this book!

This story is a unique twist on A Christmas Carol. A company called Project Scrooge plans out a night of ghosts for a new Scrooge every Christmas Eve. They spend the whole year studying the Scrooge so they can provide the most effective memories for that night. However, this year is different because Holly, a former failed Scrooge, falls for their current Scrooge, Evan Winters III.

Though this book is centred around Christmas, it does not have to be read during Christmas. I read it at Christmas because I thought it was meant to be a holiday story, but it could be read any time of year. Most of the story takes place in the year leading up to December 25th, so it could be read at any time.

I was completely surprised at the ending. I never could have guessed what happened. I won’t spoil it, but I will say that I was pleasantly surprised.

I really enjoyed this book. I’ll be recommending it all year!

What to read next:

The Last Time We Say Goodbye by Cynthia Hand

My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Aston, Jodi Meadows

Have you read The Afterlife of Holly Chase? What did you think of it?

‘Waiting on’ Wednesday – December 26

This is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine. In this post we highlight a book that’s highly anticipated.

The book that I’m waiting on this Wednesday is Crown of Feathers (Crown of Feathers #1) by Nicki Pau Preto. The release date is February 12, 2019.

Goodreads Synopsis:

I had a sister, once…

In a world ruled by fierce warrior queens, a grand empire was built upon the backs of Phoenix Riders—legendary heroes who soared through the sky on wings of fire—until a war between two sisters ripped it all apart.

I promised her the throne would not come between us.

Sixteen years later, Veronyka is a war orphan who dreams of becoming a Phoenix Rider from the stories of old. After a shocking betrayal from her controlling sister, Veronyka strikes out alone to find the Riders—even if that means disguising herself as a boy to join their ranks.

But it is a fact of life that one must kill or be killed. Rule or be ruled.

Just as Veronyka finally feels like she belongs, her sister turns up and reveals a tangled web of lies between them that will change everything. And meanwhile, the new empire has learned of the Riders’ return and intends to destroy them once and for all.

Sometimes the title of queen is given. Sometimes it must be taken

What books are you waiting on this week?

Top Ten Tuesday – Books I Hope to Find Under the Christmas Tree

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish and it is now hosted by The Artsy Reader Girl. This week’s theme Books I Hope to Find Under the Christmas Tree. Here’s my list:

1. Furyborn (Empirium #1) by Claire Legrand

2. Royals by Rachel Hawkins

3. Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3) by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

4. Stranger Things: Worlds Turned Upside Down by Gina McIntyre

5. Damsel by Elana K. Arnold

6. Runaways Vol. 1: Find Your Way Home by Rainbow Rowell and Kris Anka

7. A Gathering of Shadows (Shades of Magic #2) by V.E. Schwab

8. The Belles by Dhonielle Clayton

9. Tempests and Slaughter by Tamora Pierce

10. The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee

(All photos taken from Goodreads)

Review: Kate’s Really Good at Hockey

Title: Kate’s Really Good at Hockey
Author: Christina Frey, Howard Shapiro
Genre: Middle Grade, Graphic Novel
Publisher: Animal Media Group
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Format: Ebook
Release Date: November 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

Goodreads Synopsis:

Best. Summer. Ever. At least it was supposed to be.

Kate can’t wait to attend the elite girls’ hockey camp in Denver and go up against some of the best players from around the world. But then Mom says Kate has to stay with her grandma in Denver, who doesn’t care about Kate’s hockey dreams at all. And two players at the camp have it in for Kate both on and off the ice. Toss in a tough-as-nails coach and a huge family secret, and Kate’s perfect summer isn’t turning out quite like she planned.

Kate’s Really Good at Hockey is a story about family, friendship, and doing what it takes to follow your dreams.

Review:

I loved this book! This story doesn’t shy away from the hard parts about sports. Kate has a difficult coach at camp who criticizes her game. Sometimes tough coaches and teachers are great because they push you to be your best, but other times it can be frustrating and make you want to quit. However, not every teacher is like that. Kate has to go outside of her comfort zone when she stays with her grandmother instead of in the dorms with the other girls. Her mom insisted she stay with her grandmother, and it turned out to be a great situation. This is a great book for young athletes.

What to read next:

Sunny Side Up by Jennifer L. Holm and Matthew Holm

Roller Girl by Victoria Jamieson

Have you read Kate’s Really Good at Hockey? What did you think of it?

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? – December 31

This blog meme is hosted by Book Date. It is a place to meet up and share what you have been, are and about to be reading over the week.  It’s a great post to organize yourself. It’s an opportunity to visit and comment, and er… add to that ever growing TBR pile!

What I just finished:

This weekend I finished Kate’s Really Good at Hockey by Christina Frey and Howard Shapiro.

What I’m currently reading:

I’m currently reading The Afterlife of Holly Chase by Cynthia Hand.

What I’m reading next:

Next I will be reading Watching You by Lisa Jewell.

What are you guys reading this week? Have you read any of these books?

Jill’s Weekly Wrap-Up – December 23

Here are my reviews for the week with my ratings:

I did 7 weekly blogging memes:

I also did one additional post:

How was your week? What did you guys read?

Six for Sunday – 2018 in Books

This meme is hosted by Steph at A little but a lot. The weekly prompts for 2018 can be found here. The weekly prompts for 2019 can be found here.

I’ve decided to add some more memes to my weekly list. This one looks like fun! This week’s prompt is 2018 in Books. This is such a hard one because there were so many great books published in 2018! I will be posting top ten lists for different genres leading up to the new year, but here are my top six:

1. Grace and Fury by Tracy Banghart

2. This Cruel Design (This Mortal Coil #2) by Emily Suvada

3. The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle

4. City of Ghosts by Victoria Schwab

5. Kens by Raziel Reid

6. Then She Was Gone by Lisa Jewell

Did you write a #SixforSunday post? What was your list of 2018 in Books?

Sundays in Bed With… Christmas at the Second Chance Chocolate Shop

The meme that dares to ask what book has been in your bed this morning? Come share what book you’ve spent time curled up reading in bed, or which book you wish you had time to read today! This meme is hosted by Midnight Book Girl.

This Sunday I’m reading Chrismas at the Second Chance Chocolate Shop by Kellie Hailes.

Goodreads Synopsis:

’Tis the season for second chances…

Serena Hunter loves her new life in the sleepy Devonshire countryside! It’s a world away from her crazy past as the wife of American bad boy rock star, Ritchie Dangerfield.

Now she spends her days making delicious chocolate using milk from the local dairy and she finally feels that everything is back on track. That is, until her handsome ex-husband arrives in the village to win her back…

Away from the limelight, Serena gets to know Ritchie all over again and realises that maybe a second chance at love is the Christmas miracle she’d been dreaming of all along?

A perfectly festive read to curl up with this Christmas. Perfect for fans of Caroline Roberts, Cathy Bramley and Heidi Swain.

What book are you in bed with today?