TBR Thursday – August 2

 

TBR Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by Kimberly Faye Reads, where you post a title from your shelf or e-reader and find out what others think about it.

My pick this week is Love Hate & Other Filters by Samira Ahmed.

31207017.jpg

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

Goodreads Synopsis:

A searing #OwnVoices coming-of-age debut in which an Indian-American Muslim teen confronts Islamophobia and a reality she can neither explain nor escape–perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Jacqueline Woodson, and Adam Silvera.

American-born seventeen-year-old Maya Aziz is torn between worlds. There’s the proper one her parents expect for their good Indian daughter: attending a college close to their suburban Chicago home, and being paired off with an older Muslim boy her mom deems “suitable.” And then there is the world of her dreams: going to film school and living in New York City—and maybe (just maybe) pursuing a boy she’s known from afar since grade school, a boy who’s finally falling into her orbit at school.

There’s also the real world, beyond Maya’s control. In the aftermath of a horrific crime perpetrated hundreds of miles away, her life is turned upside down. The community she’s known since birth becomes unrecognizable; neighbors and classmates alike are consumed with fear, bigotry, and hatred. Ultimately, Maya must find the strength within to determine where she truly belongs.

Have you read this book? What did you think of it?

Review: The Reptile Room (A Series of Unfortunate Events #2)

78418.jpg

Title: The Reptile Room (A Series of Unfortunate Events #2)
Author: Lemony Snicket
Genre: Young Adult
Publisher: Scholastic Inc.
Source: Library
Release Date: September 30, 1999
Rating: ★★★★

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

Goodreads Synopsis:

Dear Reader,

If you have picked up this book with the hope of finding a simple and cheery tale, I’m afraid you have picked up the wrong book altogether. The story may seem cheery at first, when the Baudelaire children spend time in the company of some interesting reptiles and a giddy uncle, but don’t be fooled. If you know anything at all about the unlucky Baudelaire children, you already know that even pleasant events lead down the same road to misery.

In fact, within the pages you now hold in your hands, the three siblings endure a car accident, a terrible odor, a deadly serpent, a long knife, a large brass reading lamp, and the appearance of a person they’d hoped never to see again.

I am bound to record these tragic events, but you are free to put this book back on the shelf and seek something lighter.

With all due respect,

Lemony Snicket

Review:

This is another great book in the series.

One of the things I like about this book is that they give away what’s going to happen at the end fairly early on in the story. Uncle Monty won’t survive the book. But even though the ending is revealed early, the book is still exciting. It’s difficult to give away the ending and still keep the reader intrigued, but Lemony Snicket can do it!

I read this book years ago, but I still love it. The snakes were an interesting part of the story. I loved how Uncle Monty discovered a snake and named it the Incredibly Deadly Viper for a special reason, but you’ll have to read it to find out why!

I can’t wait to continue rereading the series.

What to read next:

  • The Wide Window (A Series of Unfortunate Events #3) by Lemony Snicket

    438492.jpg

  • The Field Guide (The Spiderwick Chronicles #1) by Tony DiTerlizzi and Holly Black

    444304.jpg

Have you read The Reptile Room? What did you think of it?

‘Waiting on’ Wednesday – August 1

 

This is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine. In this post we highlight a book that’s highly anticipated.

The book that I’m waiting on this Wednesday is City of Ghosts by Victoria Schwab.

35403058.jpg

Goodreads Synopsis:

Cassidy Blake’s parents are The Inspectres, a (somewhat inept) ghost-hunting team. But Cass herself can REALLY see ghosts. In fact, her best friend, Jacob, just happens to be one.

When The Inspectres head to ultra-haunted Edinburgh, Scotland, for their new TV show, Cass—and Jacob—come along. In Scotland, Cass is surrounded by ghosts, not all of them friendly. Then she meets Lara, a girl who can also see the dead. But Lara tells Cassidy that as an In-betweener, their job is to send ghosts permanently beyond the Veil. Cass isn’t sure about her new mission, but she does know the sinister Red Raven haunting the city doesn’t belong in her world. Cassidy’s powers will draw her into an epic fight that stretches through the worlds of the living and the dead, in order to save herself.

I can’t wait to read this book! What books are you waiting on this week?