Stacking the Shelves – August 4

This is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews and Reading Reality. Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!

I had my wish for this book granted on NetGalley last week. I can’t wait to read it! Thanks Disney-Hyperion!

  • My Almost Flawless Tokyo Dream Life by Rachel Cohn

    38491757.jpg

I received 4 books from Simon & Schuster Canada:

  • Legacy of Light (Effigies #3) by Sarah Raughley

    38358367.jpg

  • Lying in Wait by Liz Nugent

    36373425.jpg

  • Watch Your Tongue: What Our Everyday Sayings and Idioms Figuratively Mean by Mark Abley

    38532170.jpg

  • Rabbit & Robot by Andrew Smith

    38193408.jpg

I also received 3 books from Penguin Random House Canada:

  • The Victorian and the Romantic: A Memoir, a Love Story, and a Friendship Across Time by Nell Stevens

    36950013.jpg

  • With You Always by Rena Olsen

    36595974.jpg

  • An Unwanted Guest by Shari Lapena

    38240386.jpg

Thank you to Disney-Hyperion, Simon & Schuster Canada, and Penguin Random House Canada for these books! I can’t wait to read them!

What books did you get this week?

 

Review: Secret Coders (Secret Coders #1)

23310720.jpg

Title: Secret Coders (Secret Coders #1)
Author: Gene Luen Yang, Mike Holmes
Genre: Middle Grade, Graphic Novel
Publisher: First Second
Source: Library
Release Date: September 29, 2015
Rating: ★★★★

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

Goodreads Synopsis:

Welcome to Stately Academy, a school which is just crawling with mysteries to be solved! The founder of the school left many clues and puzzles to challenge his enterprising students. Using their wits and their growing prowess with coding, Hopper and her friend Eni are going to solve the mystery of Stately Academy no matter what it takes!

From graphic novel superstar (and high school computer programming teacher) Gene Luen Yang comes a wildly entertaining new series that combines logic puzzles and basic programming instruction with a page-turning mystery plot!

Review:

I really enjoyed this book!

It shows kids how to use coding in the real world, not just on a computer. Actually, there weren’t any traditional computers in this book. The kids found a robot, which would respond to commands that were programmed into it. The janitor used the robot for practical reasons, like cleaning the yard, but also for secret reasons too.

There was a twist involving a teacher that I didn’t see coming. There is also a mystery that involves Hopper’s father. I have no idea where that storyline is going to go, so I really want to continue the series.

The story ended on a cliffhanger, so I’m going to have to read the next one soon for find out what happens!

What to read next:

  • Paths & Portals (Secret Coders #2) by Gene Luen Yang and Mike Holmes
    img_1684

  • The Friendship Code (Girls Who Code #1) by Stacia Deutsch, Reshma Saujani, and Sisi A. Johnson
    img_1686

Have you read Secret Coders? What did you think of it?

First Lines Friday – August 3

 

This is a weekly meme hosted by Wandering Words, where you give the first few lines of a book to hook your readers before introducing the book.

Here are my first lines:

“Welcome to the beautiful Sinclair family.
No one is a criminal.
No one is an addict.
No one is a failure.
The Sinclairs are athletic, tall, and handsome. We are old-money Democrats. Our smiles are wide, our chins square, and our tennis serves aggressive.”

Do you recognize these first lines?

And the book is… We Were Liars by E. Lockhart.

16143347-2.jpg

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898-2.png

Goodreads synopsis:

A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from New York Times bestselling author, National Book Award finalist, and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart.

Read it.

And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.

I loved this book! You can find my review here.

Have you read We Were Liars? What did you think of it?

Review: Believe Me

36399240-2

Title: Believe Me
Author: J.P. Delaney
Genre: Thriller
Publisher: Penguin Random House Canada
Source: Publisher
Release Date: July 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

Goodreads Synopsis:

In this twisty psychological thriller from the New York Timesbestselling author of The Girl Before, an actress plays both sides of a murder investigation.

A struggling actor, a Brit in America without a green card, Claire needs work and money to survive. Then she gets both. But nothing like she expected.

Claire agrees to become a decoy for a firm of divorce lawyers. Hired to entrap straying husbands, she must catch them on tape with their seductive propositions. The rules? Never hit on the mark directly. Make it clear you’re available, but he has to proposition you, not the other way around. The firm is after evidence, not coercion. The innocent have nothing to hide.

Then the game changes.

When the wife of one of Claire’s targets is violently murdered, the cops are sure the husband is to blame. Desperate to catch him before he kills again, they enlist Claire to lure him into a confession.

Claire can do this. She’s brilliant at assuming a voice and an identity. For a woman who’s mastered the art of manipulation, how difficult could it be to tempt a killer into a trap? But who is the decoy . . . and who is the prey?

Review:

This was a great thriller. It had tons of twists!

Claire was an unreliable character. I couldn’t trust what she did or said because sometimes she would lie and I couldn’t tell what was true. It made for a good story since I didn’t know what was happening, but it was frustrating at the same time because I couldn’t trust her.

Halfway through the book, I was sure that I had figured out who killed Stella. But there was a twist in part 3, which completely through me off. I was also wrong with my theory.

The last part of the story was different from the first two. There was less of the mystery because everyone was more settled in their lives. The mystery was resolved at the very end, but it felt rushed to me. I was surprised at how it ended.

This book is great if you love twisty thrillers!

What to read next:

  • A Noise Downstairs

  • Gone Girl

Have you read Believe Me? What did you think of it?

TBR Thursday – August 2

 

TBR Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by Kimberly Faye Reads, where you post a title from your shelf or e-reader and find out what others think about it.

My pick this week is Love Hate & Other Filters by Samira Ahmed.

31207017.jpg

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

Goodreads Synopsis:

A searing #OwnVoices coming-of-age debut in which an Indian-American Muslim teen confronts Islamophobia and a reality she can neither explain nor escape–perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Jacqueline Woodson, and Adam Silvera.

American-born seventeen-year-old Maya Aziz is torn between worlds. There’s the proper one her parents expect for their good Indian daughter: attending a college close to their suburban Chicago home, and being paired off with an older Muslim boy her mom deems “suitable.” And then there is the world of her dreams: going to film school and living in New York City—and maybe (just maybe) pursuing a boy she’s known from afar since grade school, a boy who’s finally falling into her orbit at school.

There’s also the real world, beyond Maya’s control. In the aftermath of a horrific crime perpetrated hundreds of miles away, her life is turned upside down. The community she’s known since birth becomes unrecognizable; neighbors and classmates alike are consumed with fear, bigotry, and hatred. Ultimately, Maya must find the strength within to determine where she truly belongs.

Have you read this book? What did you think of it?

Review: The Reptile Room (A Series of Unfortunate Events #2)

78418.jpg

Title: The Reptile Room (A Series of Unfortunate Events #2)
Author: Lemony Snicket
Genre: Young Adult
Publisher: Scholastic Inc.
Source: Library
Release Date: September 30, 1999
Rating: ★★★★

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

Goodreads Synopsis:

Dear Reader,

If you have picked up this book with the hope of finding a simple and cheery tale, I’m afraid you have picked up the wrong book altogether. The story may seem cheery at first, when the Baudelaire children spend time in the company of some interesting reptiles and a giddy uncle, but don’t be fooled. If you know anything at all about the unlucky Baudelaire children, you already know that even pleasant events lead down the same road to misery.

In fact, within the pages you now hold in your hands, the three siblings endure a car accident, a terrible odor, a deadly serpent, a long knife, a large brass reading lamp, and the appearance of a person they’d hoped never to see again.

I am bound to record these tragic events, but you are free to put this book back on the shelf and seek something lighter.

With all due respect,

Lemony Snicket

Review:

This is another great book in the series.

One of the things I like about this book is that they give away what’s going to happen at the end fairly early on in the story. Uncle Monty won’t survive the book. But even though the ending is revealed early, the book is still exciting. It’s difficult to give away the ending and still keep the reader intrigued, but Lemony Snicket can do it!

I read this book years ago, but I still love it. The snakes were an interesting part of the story. I loved how Uncle Monty discovered a snake and named it the Incredibly Deadly Viper for a special reason, but you’ll have to read it to find out why!

I can’t wait to continue rereading the series.

What to read next:

  • The Wide Window (A Series of Unfortunate Events #3) by Lemony Snicket

    438492.jpg

  • The Field Guide (The Spiderwick Chronicles #1) by Tony DiTerlizzi and Holly Black

    444304.jpg

Have you read The Reptile Room? What did you think of it?

‘Waiting on’ Wednesday – August 1

 

This is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine. In this post we highlight a book that’s highly anticipated.

The book that I’m waiting on this Wednesday is City of Ghosts by Victoria Schwab.

35403058.jpg

Goodreads Synopsis:

Cassidy Blake’s parents are The Inspectres, a (somewhat inept) ghost-hunting team. But Cass herself can REALLY see ghosts. In fact, her best friend, Jacob, just happens to be one.

When The Inspectres head to ultra-haunted Edinburgh, Scotland, for their new TV show, Cass—and Jacob—come along. In Scotland, Cass is surrounded by ghosts, not all of them friendly. Then she meets Lara, a girl who can also see the dead. But Lara tells Cassidy that as an In-betweener, their job is to send ghosts permanently beyond the Veil. Cass isn’t sure about her new mission, but she does know the sinister Red Raven haunting the city doesn’t belong in her world. Cassidy’s powers will draw her into an epic fight that stretches through the worlds of the living and the dead, in order to save herself.

I can’t wait to read this book! What books are you waiting on this week?